Skip to content

The Main Event

December 12, 2011

Ok, The Shins are my favorite band right now. I can’t explain what it is about their music that I like so much, but I do. They have a song called Gone For Good on their album Chutes too Narrow. In that song is one of my favorite lyrics. It says, “You want to fight for this love, but honey, you cannot wrestle a dove.”

It’s not a new thought, but the way it’s said within that song really makes me think. I heard it today and tried to think through all the different angles someone could say that from.

My wife posted a scripture at her blog today that also got me thinking. It was Isaiah 40:31.

“But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” The thing that jumped out at me was the waiting part. I’m not good at waiting… at all. I’m very impatient actually.

These two thoughts merged at some point today and I realized that a good portion of my life had been spent wrestling a dove, literally. I’m going to take this a different direction than you might think so bear with me. Most of us want to do the right things and live a life that pleases God. Many of us have this idea in our heads that we have to fight our sin natures and do everything that we can to please God.

I won’t disagree that we need to do everything we can to please God, but I think most of us do the wrong things. We wait on God for the good things in life. We’ll wait for the better job, the perfect opportunity to launch a ministry, or for God to send us the perfect wife or husband. What we have a hard time waiting on is for God to perfect us.

We spend so much time trying to be good that we neglect the very Thing that we want to be good for. Spending time with God is the “everything” that we should be doing.

Roman 8:12-15 talks about this saying,

“12 So then, brethren, we are under obligation, not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh— 13 for if you are living according to the flesh, you must die; but if by the Spirit you are putting to death the deeds of the body, you will live. 14 For all who are being led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. 15 For you have not received a spirit of slavery leading to fear again, but you have received a spirit of adoption as sons by which we cry out, “Abba! Father!”

We don’t stop doing the things that we don’t want to do by trying really, really hard not to do them. It’s by the Spirit that we stop. We want to wrestle away from the Dove what is His job to do. Be quiet and wait. It’s this Spirit who has begun a good work in you and He will be faithful to complete it.

Rest easy knowing that Jesus knows what we’re going through and is in God’s ear praying for us at this very moment. He knows what we want. He knows what we need. Wait on God to do the work while you get to know Him better than you do today. I promise that one day you will fully understand what it means to cry out “Abba! Father!”

From → Preachy Thoughts

2 Comments
  1. The Sister permalink

    Love this! Well said. (Except that you have not literally wrestled a dove, but I’ll forgive that one error since the rest was so good.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

