Skip to content

Theological Ineptitude

December 19, 2011

Let me start by saying that I’m really glad sanctification is a process.

I was going through some old sermons I had written and, unfortunately, had actually preached. Unfortunate for all who heard.

I was hoping that I could use some of them, chop them up and post them here. Not going to happen. It would take me longer to rewrite them than it would to write something new.

They were so far off base it’s not even funny. I’m in such a different place now that it’s almost embarrassing. I don’t plan on letting anyone see those anytime soon.

I think most of us can look back on our time with God and think of phases that we went through that are like a different person. I think we’ve all been off base and said some amazingly goofy things theologically.

We can’t worry about it though. We can’t let it stop us from trying to help others to believe, or learn more about God.

God knows where we’re at in our knowledge. He knows what we’re likely to say. Nothing comes as a shock to Him.
With that being said, God is not going to put us into situations that we’re not capable of handling. He’s not going to put us into a situation with someone who is seeking when He knows we’ll make it worse.

Even all the seeming nonsense I wrote a couple years ago was intended to accomplish something at that time.
Let’s not believe that we can say anything, but let’s remember that God actually IS in control. I think sometimes we give ourselves too much credit and too much blame.

11 When they bring you before the synagogues and the rulers and the authorities, do not worry about how or what you are to speak in your defense, or what you are to say; 12 for the Holy Spirit will teach you in that very hour what you ought to say.” (Luke 12:11-13)

While this verse is specifically talking about being on trial I think it still applies. Anytime someone is questioning and is not a believer God is on trial.

If God is going to give you the words to say when your life is in danger, He’ll also give you the words to say when someone else’s life is in danger.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

